What's new

Question - Johnny Cage What does TYM think of Johnny as of 8-13-2015?

MadeOfMetal

Kenshi Srubtastic,Cyrax, Special Forces Mains
I am new to JC, and havent used him for that long, and certainly have not used him in my local tournament scene. my online is Garbage and cant use for testing a character!
im asking the TYM community to give what they know about JC for all of TYM to understand!

before i tried him out, i though he was utter garbage, untill i played with a few friends @KHAOTIC iDante1
i found he has some nice mixups and pressure, may not have massive damage but he is a threat none the same.
  • Where do you think he lies in the tier placement?
  • What variation is better?
  • What are his weak points?
  • What are his strengths?
  • Does he need Help in the patch department?
  • What is the Max damage he can do in both MID/CORNER?
  • Does any of his 3 variations have Bad MU's against most of the cast?
i have messed around with him in all 3 variations.

i personally like the A-list variation for the Special move cancels and his 12(1) run cancel.

and Fisty cups for the B121212 string 9 hit lockdown,

and Stunt double for the pressure high damage and setups

What does TYM feel about the variations?

is any of the 3 viable against most of the cast?

QXD

Noob
I would say upper mid tier, he has a really strong pressure game in a-list and stunt double, but more mix up in stunt double. hes a nightmare to deal with in the corner, and has the ability to pressure with 11 and set up throws. As for weaknesses his d2 isn't that great, but ive had some success with stand 1 as a anti air. He also doesn't have to hard of a time with zoning as a well timed ex shadow kick can get you right in, as well as having a sub par fireball game. On a final note, his d4 is very fast, puts him low to the ground, and is -1 on block. Might be top 5 pokes in the game tbh.

Name v.5.0

Iowa's Finest.
Speaking for Stunt Double Johnny Cage: