What's new

Question Can smoke players win tournaments?

Hey, so I'm a total noob who needs an education. I play a lot of characters, smoke included. I was surprised to see him on Tom Brady's A section on his tier breakdown, and no one detested it, so I figured maybe I'm playing smoke wrong. I haven't seen smoke players make much noise since the OTG smoke bomb was patched out, though. So, really what does he have? Why is he so good?

I don't think he has low strings unless I missed something, and if i did please tell me lol.. so I find myself relying pretty heavily on a hit with a smoke bomb into 3, d1, 2... but i dont feel like I can really zone with smoke because the smoke bomb is predictable and takes no chip damage. IIRC b2, 3 is an overhead string that can be linked into a smoke bomb, but there is no easy way to get people toblock low on smoke.

Any zoning techniques with him that I'm just not seeing? Any good rushdown strings that are safe on block for some chip damage?

First off, worst thread title ever.

Hey, so I'm a total noob who needs an education. I play a lot of characters, smoke included. I was surprised to see him on Tom Brady's A section on his tier breakdown, and no one detested it, so I figured maybe I'm playing smoke wrong.
You mean CONtested (plenty of people detest it, lol). That tier list is really old and probably wrong. Smoke likely isn't A-tier in all fairness. Lots of things have shuffled around in the meantime.

I haven't seen smoke players make much noise since the OTG smoke bomb was patched out, though. So, really what does he have? Why is he so good?
Look at any one of the several guides in this section. No one is going to be able to type out a comprehensive list for you in one post.

I don't think he has low strings unless I missed something, and if i did please tell me lol..
He doesn't.