What's new

Some perspective to the Freddy DLC from inside a game industry office

So I work in the video game industry here in SoCal, and when the Freddy video came out - the link to the video spread like wildfire through our office.

Now everyone is saying how they are going to buy MK when they leave work lol. Everyone knows I'm the MK guy in the office, and my training buddies work here with me... We MK players in the office are in this WTF mode, and everyone else is about to head for GameStop to buy the game.

Looks like there is about to be in influx of players. I expect these people will get their fill of Freddy then hit the road though. From what I've seen today, NRS is about to have a huge sales spike. Should be interesting.

Kwon

---->----
As long as they use the resources from that new influx of customers by focusing on the development for Tanya, Tremor, Frost and Fujin for Aug, Sept and Oct, it's all good! :D

Gthunda866

Lazer Eye!
well fuck NRS I don't give a shit about that they are money begging bitches and it now shows they don't give a fuck who they disappoint along the way this destroys everything they have done to make MK better

well fuck NRS I don't give a shit about that they are money begging bitches and it now shows they don't give a fuck who they disappoint along the way this destroys everything they have done to make MK better
I would very respectfully disagree with this.

I am a Producer/Designer of an MMORPG coming out later this year, and have worked on several titles. I can tell you from experience, it doesn't help a game company to cater to a very few and niche group of hardcore players. The casuals are what generate the bulk of revenue to NRS. Trust me... while this is weird and unexpected, this is going to generate tons of revenue. This will guarantee that WB will support both NRS and MK for a while to come. I truly believe this is a good thing for the game and its longevity.