What's new

PLEASE HELP: I dont understand frame data

Okay, this is going to drive me nuts. I'm not stupid, I KNOW I'm not stupid (lol). But for some reason I cant seem to grasp what all the frame data means, specifically cancel advantage. I looked it up, but it always turns into someone explaining it, but including more calculations in the explanation itself. All of the frame data categories are pretty self explanatory, but when I start reading on an in depth level it confuses me. Can someone please break down cancel advantage and how these frame data categories affect gameplay? I've already looked this up on tym, I've read the guides that we do have on frame data but I'm still lost

Krankk

Smoke & Noob & Rain
@Krankk these helped, but I'm still confused on what cancel advantage is. He went over it lightly here but not fully?
Eh... I'm a beginner myself, who doesn't understand things fully, but if I'm not all too wrong, then cancel advantage are the frames (period of time) during which you can cancel a normal or a string into a special move. Like for example there are strings with a cancel advantage of N/A. These moves pretty much always end up on hard knockdowns... or they just push the opponents very far away and your character spends that time in recovery.
So you can't cancel those strings into specials. However, I think it's also often the case that if such an N/A string consists out of three button presses, often you can try inputting just the first two commands of the string and cancelling those with a special attack.

Eh... I'm a beginner myself, who doesn't understand things fully, but if I'm not all too wrong, then cancel advantage are the frames (period of time) during which you can cancel a normal or a string into a special move. Like for example there are strings with a cancel advantage of N/A. These moves pretty much always end up on hard knockdowns... or they just push the opponents very far away and your character spends that time in recovery.