What's new

Strategy - Erron Black Outlaw Vs Marksman?

Noob
Hey guys. So i have been eyeballing Erron Black Since he first appeared on the Comic book, but after launch something really made me move away from him, mostly the hat thing and the fact that everyone after the fatal 8 and few days post launch was yelling Outlaw was the best variation and the way to go with erron black. But honestly, i hate Outlaw variation, it doesnt fit my playing style at all. So i started playing around with marksman. Mostly because i see a lot of Nightwing in him ( NW main since day 1 for injustice here ) with the projectile cancels and still have a slight advantage on block, good high low mix ups and incredible damage output...

But heres the kicker after skiming a few threads couple youtube vids and my own few hours in the training mode, i started to question what really makes Outlaw that much better over Marksman?!
I mean i dabbled with Outlaw for a bit, did all the combos and yes i felt he is 100% easier to play than Marksman. Marksman feels a lot heavier on execution and a lot more stressfull to pull certain combos, but in al honestly he feels a lot better than Outlaw to me. I feel he has better options and safer ones as well. Can output more damage than outlaw as far as what iv seen around, and has a better ranged game than outlaw. Now im obviously an online player, and might be missing insight on the more high lvl nuances of both variations, but thats why im here to ask you guys. If a tornament player really dedicated himself to perfecting all the cancels/combos/mixups the character is capable of in Marksman would he really still fall short of outperforming someone in Outlaw?

Pakman

Lawless Victory!
You actually touched upon this possibly without realising it, but the great thing about Erron is his incredible flexibility and versatility in regards to play styles - so just pick a variation that suits how you want to play him.