What's new

New to MK & fighting games

Hello all! So as the title suggests, I am new to Mk & fighting games overall. I'm having trouble with stringing combos together, input timing, and also things like jumping diagonally instead of just straight up. I do play on an xbox controller. The characters I'm using currently are sonya, geras, and skarlet. If anyone has any tips on getting better with the movements and timing of the games, It would be greatly appreciated

Matix218

Get over here!
Make sure you are using the d pad to move/jump and not the analog stick. D pad gives you more precise directional inputs (which may be why you are having jump issues). As far as getting consistent with strings/combo execution it really is just a matter of going into practice mode and learning through repetition. You will also want to practice hit confirming as a lot of new FG players don't understand this concept. In short, hit confirming is when you train yourself to visually confirm that your move or string has hit (as opposed to being blocked) before inputting a punishable special move to extend your combo.

Make sure you are using the d pad to move/jump and not the analog stick. D pad gives you more precise directional inputs (which may be why you are having jump issues). As far as getting consistent with strings/combo execution it really is just a matter of going into practice mode and learning through repetition. You will also want to practice hit confirming as a lot of new FG players don't understand this concept. In short, hit confirming is when you train yourself to visually confirm that your move or string has hit (as opposed to being blocked) before inputting a punishable special move to extend your combo.
Yeah see, I don't know anything about hit confirming at all. I do use dpad tho, and have trouble putting in special moves because I'm not sure if I should roll my dpad or actually press the down back. I also have big fingers which may cause input errors

Matix218