What's new

Fighting Game Designer looking to plug in.

Hello! My name is Simon Strange. I've been a professional game designer/developer for the past 15+ years. I'm best known for designing
  • Godzilla: Destroy All Monsters Melee
  • Godzilla: Save the Earth
  • Godzilla: Unleashed
  • Rampage: Total Destruction
  • Deadliest Warrior: The Game (and the expansion)
The past year I've been working on a new fighting game - Colossal Kaiju Combat. (Formerly just "Kaiju Combat" - but a legal dispute over the name with Wizards of the Coast led to a change.)
My intent was to get a big community behind me, and create a fighting game that would really appeal to monster fans, and still be a tournament-level fighter.
The game has been coming along well, but part of my plan has not... the largish community I've built thus far is about 98% monster fans and only 2% fighting fans. I'm a regular poster at shoryuken.com, and I've made several appeals over there, but haven't had a lot of luck.
I know that it's hard to discuss a game in progress - one you can't actually play yet. I'll be making a big push to bring lots of FGC folks in on our public Beta as soon as that happens.
But I've just become aware of TYM, and I thought maybe some of the folks here might have an interest in game design, and would like to jump into the CKC community as well, to help round out our perspectives?
Our forums run Xenforo just like TYM, so you should feel right at home:
http://kaijucombat.com/community
If you want to see what we have thus far, feel free to peruse our online design documentation:
http://kaijucombat.com/wiki
Our first pre-Alpha trailer is up. We're still a couple months from Beta, but it gives a broad idea of what the game will be like. (If you've played my Godzilla games, you have a decent sense of it already.)

gdf

Noob
It certainly is an interesting concept.Not many fighting games in the EVO circuit in the past years have a 3D environment, Tekken and Soul, off the top of my head.