What's new

Wanted: Fighting Game Fans to help tune & test Colossal Kaiju Combat!

Hello - my name is Simon Strange. I've been developing video games for about 16 years - mostly in the console space.

I've been poking around TYM for about 1 year, because for the last two years I've been building a new kaiju-themed fighting/brawler game, and a community to go along with it at kaijucombat.com. My idea was to bring together fighting fans and kaiju fans. Here's my introduction thread: http://testyourmight.com/threads/fighting-game-designer-looking-to-plug-in.39180/

Well, after more than 18 months of work, the first part of the CKC franchise started on Early Access this August. Colossal Kaiju Combat(tm): Kaijuland Battles is a bare-bones 4-monsters 1-arena game. The idea is to get a large number of players & test games played, while we use that information to improve the underlying combat & control scheme - which will be used in all our future games as well. Kaijuland Battles will be free once we move out of Early Access, but for right now we're charging $5 for it. The goal there was to keep out casual players - and focus only on the players who understand that the game is a work in progress, and that we need people who will play online games, submit bugs & descriptive feedback, and help us iterate to make the game better.

Well after a few months of Early Access, the game has improved to the point where I think we need the expertise of more dedicated Fighting Game Community members. We've been organizing play sessions mostly on Tuesdays & Thursdays - the game servers are running 24/7, but it's a lot more fun when you have a few dozen (or a few hundred) opponents online at the same time.

I'll also point out that the game right now REQUIRES a USB gamepad or fight stick to play. We'll implement keyboard / mouse controls once we're satisfied that the gamepad controls are perfect.