What's new

When did you say "I'm ready"?

Bes110

Noob
Hello all! I thought I would make this thread to ask a simple question for myself, but also as a place to just simply hear others stories.

I am new to the scene. Injustice 2 is my first serious fighting game. Recently I've been debating about travelling around and trying to participate in tournaments.

It is a tricky balance though. Financial ability, skill at the game, and fun are just some determining factors in traveling to play a video game.

Basically what I want to know is when did you guys decide to take your competitiveness to the next level? Was there a specific time or occurrence which made you finally say "I'm ready"? How long before you got to this point? Did you dive in too soon? Too late?

I appreciate any replies!

Second Saint

A man with too many names.
Well, it took me about a year or so before I actually went to a tournament. I went with friends to an Anime convention, and I saw ahead of time that there would be a tournament there. I figured pretty quick that'd be my main focus of the con, and I was right about that. I made 7th, and had a whole lot of fun. Went back the next year and made 4th in MKXL.

Now I had a pretty big barrier to traveling for tournaments then because I was a fully PC player and typically played on keyboard. While I've since bought a converter, I didn't have one then, so I had to show up and struggle to get half my normal execution back.