What's new

Strategy Using H20 Buff to Bait and Punish

High Plains Drifter

Rain is my main and pain is my game!
The Bait and Punish-

For the time being the strategy presented here is a non-competitive tournament fighting strategy that could eventually grow into a relevant competitive fighting strategy, I hope. This thread attempts to introduce the ways to use the H20 Buff safely, ending in high damage combos that can be devastating that help create future mind games. I am not a high level player, but I have a lot of knowledge and understanding of the mechanics of MK9. Where I lack is execution but that’s coming.

So here goes….

People are starting to realize how amazing Rain’s tools are, the trick is adjusting your setups based on what move set the opponent possess. The scenarios and ideas presented here are no different. I lack match up experience versus certain characters so if you have a good matchup specific tech please post.

When to use the H20 Buff-

I advice only using this tech in specific situations: those were Rain has a life-lead and you have at least 2 bars of meter, because doing normal Water Boost is a waste of time and simply not a worth while setup. Advantages to using the H20 Buff are longer duration, increased damage boost and 15-20 frames of armor in middle of execution. FYI….H20 Buff takes 53 frames to execute before attacking or linking next animation.

How to use H20 Buff Safely-

Lets start with the simplest, easiest and generally safest opportunities to execute H20 Buff.

Lightning and Thunder Storm
Anytime Rain performs Lightning in a combo it can be followed by H20 Buff and still have around 23 frames before your opponent can execute their wake up move. Using Thunder Storm instead of Lighting gives you around 30 frames of advantage and allows you to keep pressure.

Super Kick