What's new

Tournament Standard?

RWDY Nori

Where is crossplay?
Hey everybody. I've been running tournaments for nearly 10 years in San Antonio, TX but am not sure how to approach MK9. I've had lots of success running 360 (vs PS3) tourneys for SSF4 and recently, MvC3. For the record, I have both systems. What I'm wondering is, does anybody have an idea what the tourney standard will be for MK9? Since the TE is so massively popular, I was going to continue running 360 only.

Any thoughts would be great from other TOs. Thanks guys

DrDogg

Noob
Evo and DEVASTATION are both running on PS3. Most (all?) of the MKDC tournaments were also run on PS3.

MK has a lot of pad players, so I would think PS3 will become standard.

Tim Static

Adminerator
There wont be a standard. It depends on your local crew. Here in Columbus, we use 360.

Basing it on a controller now is just being silly and lazy. too many converters and modding services around to let that be an issue.

My thought is if you're already running 360 then go with it. People who play on that system in other games should already be prepared.

I think technically PS3 will be the preferred just because of EVO and the EVO series, but it shouldn't really matter in the end (similar to how IV has worked out on both systems).

DrDogg

Noob
If there are technical differences in each version, then the console will matter... especially since there's no arcade version to compare the game to.

Tim Static

Adminerator
Never stopped the inferior SSF2T HDR being run on PS3, as one example. some communities will just continue to use whatever they have and thats fine.

If there are technical differences in each version, then the console will matter... especially since there's no arcade version to compare the game to.
In today's climate for games like this, the fact that the people playing the game are generally split 50/50 between PS3/360 users makes it matter even less.