What's new

ranked variations and e-sports

Hello Everyone
I have been playing fighting games for 30 years. I am no where near a tournament guy. However, I do recognize that mk11 is doing something really special and we need to acknowledge this.

I have a background in individual competitive combat sport. My sport is fencing. MK11 is the closest a video game has come to recreating the feel of a combat sport. it isnt just another "how long can you keep your combo going" game. No, everything your opponent tries to do to you can be countered and escaped from. The system has straight forward and simple tools but then if you go about really learning them your game can become very complex with resource management and threat. This is great.

The tutorial in the game is also unique. I have not seen another game go into detail of frame rates and punishments. I am just use to "here are the special moves and a combo trial" and that is it. I never understood all the talk of frame rate and punish timing and such when I would watch a stream of a competition. It was never worth it to me to go through and look up what all that meant. But now, I understand this stuff. So the next time I watch some matches on stream I will have a greater understanding of the subtle aspects of the high level game. This is important for e-sports.