What's new

Tech Quick Tech Analysis pt.1 : N.T.C.G./C.G.N.T.

Doombawkz

Trust me, I'm a doctor
One of Bane's many techs is his unique ability to link his normal throw into his command grab and vice versa from anywhere on the screen. On paper, this sounds average if not irrelevant as a whole, but this analysis of the tech will show not only advantages to using this tech but also possible remedies to its counters.

(Make note that all normal throws are forward throws)

First off is the N.T.C.G., or the "Normal Throw -> Command Grab". As can be seen from a lot of characters, normal throws don't leave the victim with much time to use their wake-ups before standing again. Why, then, is this useful? After all Bane, as he is, has just put himself a little over quarter screen distance from his opponent and given them a free stand! That is where the command grab comes into play. The distance is easily covered, and a Bane player can train himself to buffer it in the ending of the grab animation to have it come out as soon as it's able, something the opponent isn't going to be able to do as its not a window they commonly have to worry about. Linking N.T.C.G. will result in about 30% unclashable unblockable damage by itself, so there's some good merit in using it.

As an added benefit, the throw leaves them within range for double punch as well, meaning you can potentially punish eager jumpers.

Counters:
Break the N.T. - This is the most common solution that can be done, as stopping the normal throw prevents the set-up. However, once the Bane player sees himself being pushed away, he can actually buffer a command grab to punish the throw break.