What's new

Questions from a super Noob (not saibot...)

Jufafs

Noob
Hi All,

I'm very new to UMK3 because of XBLA and I have some questions that I don't really know how to find the answer to. The questions are generally very basic in nature and so they aren't covered in a lot of the FAQs that are currently on the net.

Ok so here are some of my questions...

What exactly is a "combo"... when I try to do the sequence that is listed as a "combo" my opponent usually bounces too far away on the first HP and then I'm just punching air.. What 'exactly' is meant by combo and is it different than just a sequence of button presses... What I mean by that is are their special animation for the "combo" or not?

Also.. why when I do a jump kick I almost always get jump kicked by my opponent on XBL... for example we both jump kick at each other at the same time but I always lose this jump kick face off.. is it because I'm pressing kick too late?

is it better to use the bumper buttons to block instead of the triggers? since it takes more time to depress the trigger buttons? what do you guys use? do you guys all mod your d pad or do you use special controllers when playing on XBLA?

I don't really get what the big deal is with run jabbing...? It looks to my untrained eyes that repeatedly pressing the LP button sends out punches a lot faster than me trying to press Rn, LP, Rn, LP, Rn, LP.. what am i doing wrong or what am i missing? I do see the benefit of getting in throws by this method.. it seems like a cheap way to defeat a CPU opponent...

OK everybody.. I really hope that some of you experts can help illuminate some of my newb questions.. thanks in advance!

dreemernj

Ambassador
I'll take a couple of these.