What's new

Punishing certain moves

hey there,

i'm a noob when it comes to UMK3. i'm having trouble punishing certain moves online. what i mean is after i block these moves i don't know the best way to retaliate for damage. i play as rsmoke.

1. sub/rep's slide - too low for me to do anything.
2. jump kick
3. rushdown jabs or combo
4. mileena's teleport kick

also, i don't understand the aaHP thing. every time i hit HP when someone jump kicks at me i get smashed. i also never see it used in the match videos. does it just require really good timing?

final question, does rsmoke's teleport punch->harpoon->air throw do more than TP->harpoon->HP,HP,LK,HK,LP? i can't really tell, but if it does i'd much rather use it since it's harder to combo with the lag on live. i also know i can add a aaHP and JK into it but i've only managed to succeed once and i'd rather take the more reliable damage.

thanks for reading.

dreemernj

Ambassador
I only have a sec to post so I'll only mention one thing. With that Robo Smoke combo you mention. Teleport Uppercut, Spear, Air Throw? That doesn't really work. After you spear them if you leave the ground they are freed from the stun, and even if you try to just throw them while they are stunned, they can prevent your throw by holding away. I think the best bet would be to stick with the autocombo.

I havent played Robo Smoke in a minute but cant you teleport uc -> harpoon -> uppercut -> jk -> air throw?

You could always try juggling after the teleport uc too with aahp, right?

dreemernj said:
I only have a sec to post so I'll only mention one thing. With that Robo Smoke combo you mention. Teleport Uppercut, Spear, Air Throw? That doesn't really work. After you spear them if you leave the ground they are freed from the stun, and even if you try to just throw them while they are stunned, they can prevent your throw by holding away. I think the best bet would be to stick with the autocombo.