What's new

Interview: Ed Boon

JChang

Noob
Interview: Ed Boon

by Bryan Dawson

Ed Boon... that is the name that I'm probably most familiar with in the gaming industry. Back before I was a journalist, when I used to play these things for fun, I played a lot of different games. However, after the release of Street Fighter II in US arcades, the focus of my gaming interests turned toward fighting games. In late 1992 I was playing Street Fighter II Turbo as much as I possibly could. Since I was in 7th grade, that basically meant I played at the mall or Peter Piper Pizza every weekend.

My friend Brian (same name, bad spelling) told me about this new fighting game called Mortal Kombat, and insisted that I head to the mall to check it out. At that time I was heavy into Street Fighter and I told him that no fighting game could compete with that, so I was in no hurry to check out this new game. A few weeks later we happened to be at the mall and Brian insisted that I go with him to the arcade to check out Mortal Kombat. I finally gave in and headed over to the arcade to check it out.

When we came up on the machine, the first thing I noticed was the graphics. Instead of the cartoon look of the Street Fighter series, Mortal Kombat had gone the digitized route and the fighters looked almost real (at the time). As I moved in for a closer look, someone was hit and blood splattered on the ground. I was again mystified that this game had blood (something that Street Fighter also lacked). But I was hooked when the match ended and the announcer emphatically shouted, "FINISH HIM!!" This was followed by Sub-Zero ripping his opponent's head off with the spinal cord still hanging. Oh yes, I was a Mortal Kombat fan.