What's new

Video/Tutorial - Ronin I think more ppl should revisit/visit Ronin.

delbuster

hungry
Ronin got substantial buffs. Looking through his options I think he is top tier. but don't mind me.
He has a really poor low starter in b3 so I would advise against using it, but he has a lot of options in neutral and in pressure i think.

I am pretty new to the character, so I'd like to hear thoughts from more seasoned players. I've seen other Ronins on streams that don't seem to be optimizing situations so we can start with that.

I have a few vids to share...

For those new to Ronin, he has a move (db1) that drops the blade, and then he can do an attack out of it (db1) or recall it with no hitbox (df1) which is faster.
Normally, the attack does not launch high enough for a followup without EXing it. However, certain spacings allow it to only hit once or twice in a way that launches them. Off most strings it is very finicky, but the hitreaction from a close enough b21 will cause it midscreen to give Ronin higher damage output off of it.

Otherwise, Ronin will need meter to do bigger damage.

Thankfully, he has the 21 restand to buff his combos (restanding makes gravity scale less hard) and also to give him combo ender options for pressure. Restanding into df3 piercing spark gives decent advantage (doesn't jail though), restanding into db1 to toss the blade allows for interesting mixups and pressure starting, and he can always just end with bf2 flurry punch.

Some f1 combos in there too.
In the corner especially, Ronin will need meter to make most things hurt outside of the b112 which launches into combos.

I'm missing a basic combo vid with midscreen things like b112 21 bf2.
-