What's new

Help with security at tournaments

NinjaGrinder

A living, Breathing Piece of Defecating Meat
Hi, everyone

As some of you know, I've been running tournaments for UMK3 (since 2003) and sometimes for SF, KOF and whatever people play the most here. So, recently, with the "all night long" events, the attendance kinda blew up and we've had events for like 100 people.

The last SSFIV/T6 tournament that we ran was ok (18 for tekken, 40 for SSFIV) and everything has being taken care of, but the security. Some fucker(s) have had the nerve to steal from us, mostly wires and pirated games lol but a couple months ago a fightpad was missing and in the last event (dec 19th) someone stole a stick!

Could any of you guys please tell me some tips for this matter? some of you have gone to big events like SB, and EVO, so any knowledge or advice will be very useful. Thanks and if this isn't the right place for this thread, feel free to move it.

Unfortunately even at big events here, stuff is bound to get stolen. And it usually happens when people aren't careful.

The most important part is communication to the people coming that they need to hold on to their stuff at all times. Make everyone who donates equipment write their name on the item, or on a piece of tape and put it on the back.

Make sure you tell everyone not to leave anything in their cars or out in the open at any time.

The tourney organizers should never have any equipment out that's not being used as part of a setup either. At SB, we have a big room in the back that is locked at all times, and only the organizers are allowed in to retrieve equipment.

If you can't provide a safe place for people to store their stuff, make sure they know they need to bring backpacks.

It doesn't hurt to have someone watching doors at all times either.

There are a lot of other little things to do, but it's really about just making everyone accountable for their own items.