What's new

Question design principles in practice

What options/restrictions do designers have in terms of creative leeway when making a fg, that might not result in it becoming a broken mess (whether it be the animations, hit effects, camera angles, amount of on screen characters, etc.), and how could they apply them?

Also what design principles have designers adhered to throughout the inception of versus fighters?

Which games have some of the more unique mechanics not seen in others? Does anyone have any concepts of their own they want to share?

Interesting questions, wish I had a clear cut answer to this but I'm not a game developer. I'm sure there are some limitations on frame data/startup/projectile speed/walk speed/jump distance/active frames/cancel advantage/ etc to prevent things like infinites on hit/block or taking note of the individual character frame data so that there aren't character specific block infinites also.

WidowPuppy

Attack pekingese
TTT2 has the best practice mode in my opinion. And one thing that they have which should definitely be apart of this online lagfest, is the ability to apply latency in training. 5,4,3,2 Bars, even 1 etc... This makes getting timing down for non optimal conditions better, for combos anyway... Still not gonna make something that requires a 1 window frame punish possible with more than 1 frame of lag.

MrProfDrPepper

NRS, Guilty Gear, and KI, the holy trinity
TTT2 has the best practice mode in my opinion. And one thing that they have which should definitely be apart of this online lagfest, is the ability to apply latency in training. 5,4,3,2 Bars, even 1 etc... This makes getting timing down for non optimal conditions better, for combos anyway... Still not gonna make something that requires a 1 window frame punish possible with more than 1 frame of lag.