What's new

Strategy Command throw vs. Normal Throw

Doombawkz

Trust me, I'm a doctor
With all of the talk about his command throw, I figured it'd be a nice time to accent his lesser known bretheren, the normal throw.

Here are some pros and cons, before we begin.

Command throw : Pros
16/18/20/24% damage without meterburn
Benefits from Venom Armor
Good positioning for Oki
Step forward gives it decent enough reach
Puts us in a no-grab state
Untechable
Can be combo'd into
Great for taking time off of the juice refill

Command Throw: Cons
d.b.f. is a hard input for beginners and even some veteran players
20 start-up frames means you either buffer it in or lose it on wake-up
Can be no-grabbed
Missed inputs can cause unsafe attacks to come out
If tapped (trades with someone elses's grab or someone no-grabs with an attack), its the full 20 frames of cooldown.
Duration is a bit long, meaning if you are drinking level 3 juice you can manage maybe one before the juice is gone.

Normal Throw: Pros
10 frames (2nd fastest attack we have behind 1, and faster than our d.1)
Half the duration (more venom time in exchange for less damage)
Decent positioning for Oki (leaves them about as far as double punch)
One-button input with grab priority
Puts us in a no-grab state

Normal Throw: Cons
No venom armor
Doesn't combo into anything, or out of anything
Not as good positioning as the command grab
Damage is only a little over half of command grab at 9/10/11/14% damage
Techable
Can be tapped

As you can see, each has their own good-sides. I know a lot of players have trouble with the command grab, so I'm going to make a push to use the normal throw more often. Lets face it, 10 frames of start-up is pretty dang fast, and it can make its way inbetween some of the more difficult strings. The range also is not bad, honestly. Just as an example, lets take the following...