What's new

Cage's 2 1 F4...

In all the videos I've watched of good cage players, I never ever see them do the 2 1 F4 combo (the string that ends in a low kick instead of the overhead launcher). Is there a reason why? I do this with cage alot whenever I know they're going to block the first 2 hits, and sometimes people will fall for this multiple times in a row because they think "this could be the one where he overheads me instead!"

In my opinion it's a good mixup, but I'm by no means a pro so is there a reason why nobody uses this combo*or mixups better than this?

FatalTragedy

Jesus Fucking Christ
I'm no pro either but I don't go further than the initial 21 unless I know it's safe. It seems like you're at a massive disadvantage when the f+2 is blocked but constant 21 strings seem safe. If I only finish the string after a hit confirm I don't need the mixup. Better for him to be on the offense anyway instead of giving the opponent a chance to wake up.

Dizzy

False Information Police Officer
Premium Supporter
NetherRealm Studios
Isnt it 2,1,B+4 not F+4?

Either way I use it sparingly. I don't think i've ever got punished for using it but it looks like its unsafe. Might be good to use it to condition the opponent early to block low when they see 2,1 so you can hit them with 2,1,f+2 later in the match.

This reminds me that I need to find someone to test if it is unsafe or not...damn this training mode

Sao87

@thedigitaldojo
In all the videos I've watched of good cage players, I never ever see them do the 2 1 F4 combo (the string that ends in a low kick instead of the overhead launcher). Is there a reason why? I do this with cage alot whenever I know they're going to block the first 2 hits, and sometimes people will fall for this multiple times in a row because they think "this could be the one where he overheads me instead!"

In my opinion it's a good mixup, but I'm by no means a pro so is there a reason why nobody uses this combo*or mixups better than this?