What's new

An honest-to-goodness, be all, end all, matchup thread.

myth

Noob
An honest-to-goodness, be all, end all, matchup thread. Discuss the matchup, list the number (6-4) and, finally, explain what Quan can do to win the match (strategy). Once done with one character, move on to another.

The current Matchup Chart for Quan Chi is as follows:
5-5 vs Baraka
2-8 vs Cyber Sub-Zero
4-6 vs Cyrax
4-6 vs Ermac
xxx vs Freddy Krueger
4-6 vs Jade
5-5 vs Jax
4-6 vs Johnny Cage
4-6 vs Kabal
4-6 vs Kano
xxx vs Kenshi
4-6 vs Kitana
2-8 vs Kung Lao
4-6 vs Liu Kang
4-6 vs Mileena
3-7 vs Nightwolf
4-6 vs Noob Saibot
3-7 vs Raiden
xxx vs Rain
4-6 vs Reptile
5-5 vs Scorpion
5-5 vs Sektor
4-6 vs Shang Tsung
5-5 vs Sheeva
5-5 vs Sindel
xxx vs Skarlet
4-6 vs Smoke
4-6 vs Sonya Blade
5-5 vs Stryker
4-6 vs Sub-Zero

I am a bit of a noob but i'll try to start this thread up.
I feel like i understand the Sub-Zero match up the most so that's who will be first.

Quan Chi 4-6 vs Sub-Zero

Overall playing against SZ is a battle of defensive strats until one or the other gets a poke in.

Most Sub-Zeros i play will set up a clone once the match starts to bait or to establish a wall. That's why i (typically) trance off the bat once the match starts. I know its very risky but, more often than not it lands. Trying to read when SZ will clone is very tricky but, if you can, trance his clone.

I think the most important thing to keep in mind when it comes to SZ is to stay in his face so he can't wall off with a clone.
(constant pressure/trance stings into rune traps if you can)

Trying to poke in at a distance with the typical (at least typical for me) F1,2~trance is very risky if they read it and, clone(which most will).Also trying to poke in with skydrop (behind/in-front), B3,1+2/F1,2~trance is risky because SZ can land his poke quicker than Quan can. So,if i need to sky drop to get out of the corner (or whatever) i will sky-drop, block *or* d4. Then try to poke in.