What's new

Advice on getting knocked down

As a beginner, I'm struggling a little with handling knock downs. I understand the 50/50 element, and I don't mind getting hit by a low when I block high because it simply means I was out played. What I have difficulty with is the reversal window. It's tight offline but not unfair, but online, getting armoured moves to come out feels random at best. Is this being caused by lag (the games I've played are pretty smooth mostly), or is the window large enough that I shouldn't be having these problems?

Also, rolls. I try to tech most landings, but only 1/3 come out. Do untechable knockdown exist in MKX, and are they just throws and sweeps, or other moves too?

some moves end in hard knockdown (cannot roll out on landing the ground) also i find reversals online is trashed. happens sometimes but even then i get interrupts from someone i just blocked. though they are usually using low frame spam with someone like liu kang

Is there anything in the move lists that indicate hard knock down, or do I have to figure it out for each character manually?

(D7)

I've studied all your moves
The timing on techs/wakeups is already pretty finicky but online lag and maybe even input delay will make that even more difficult. Practice is really going to be the only thing for it. As for hard knockdowns, yes they exist in MKX but they don't show up as often as you'd think. Knockdowns from throws are untechable, as are certain EX specials (like Quan Chi's meter burned ground blast). But any knockdowns from normal strings, uppercuts, and most non-EX specials are techable. The one place where I'm unsure is sweeps. I can never remember if sweeps are a hard knockdown or not...

hope that helps a bit m8

Is there anything in the move lists that indicate hard knock down, or do I have to figure it out for each character manually?