What's new

This poor noob needs help bad

Sorry for such a long post.

First off let me start by saying that it has been a very long time since a fighting game has interested me this much. (try mk1 and sf2...yeah im old) Anyway, I love the injustice game and really enjoyed playing the story line and running through the battles. However, I have noticed something when i get into ranked or player matches online...

I SUCK.

Im a big enough man to admit it. It seems that i have hit a plateau in skill where i can beat the game with little difficulty but i am just not up to par with the online community. So I need you guys with your collective infinite wisdom to help me on my path to becoming a better gamer.

First, characters.
The fanboy in me has a hard time narrowing down which character i want to polish my skills on. I have basic knowledge of most of the characters but i am still a little shaky when it comes to matchups. In your opinion, which character(s) do you recommend for first timers? ( please include your reasoning and possible strategies that you find effective.)

Second, Training.
When learning a new character, what should i be focused on trying to perfect when starting a new character? (ie combos, punishers, zoning)

Third, your opinions.
What would be the most important thing that you wish you knew when you first started playing this game?

Thanks for you help. gg

Also, Do you prefer a controller or an arcade style pad? I am thinking of getting a pad and i wanted to know what you guys think of them?

NoxiousDonny

"Cheap Grubber"
Sorry for such a long post.

First off let me start by saying that it has been a very long time since a fighting game has interested me this much. (try mk1 and sf2...yeah im old) Anyway, I love the injustice game and really enjoyed playing the story line and running through the battles. However, I have noticed something when i get into ranked or player matches online...

I SUCK.