What's new

Kano strategy

Sooooooo... anybody have any thoughts about Kano yet? I've been playing him a bit, and while I'm no pro, here are some initial thoughts:

- Fast startup and recovery on his knife. It seems to be a very good projectile, even at close ranges.
- His various cannonballs are very, very fast. The diagonal air cannonball can punish opponents from practically all the way across the screen.
- The standing and diagonal rising EX cannonballs help Kano's already-good cannonball mix-up game. Cannonballs also make him extremely mobile.
- Knife + cannonballs make Kano an incredibly formidable and annoying turtler. It seems like a Guile-ish basic strategy might be Kano's cup of tea.
- His super is a grab, and is thus unblockable. In my experience so far, this tends to make it especially dangerous.
- His BP-FP-BP combo launches, and he can follow it up with any of his specials. And he can tack a few more hits on in the corner for some really beefy damage. I'm sure he has some more advanced combo techniques that I haven't discovered, but even his basic strings are pretty brutal.

Kano seems like a pretty strong pick. What do others think, and how have you been using him?

justim

Shingo Kick!
- His BP-FP-BP combo launches, and he can follow it up with any of his specials. And he can tack a few more hits on in the corner for some really beefy damage. I'm sure he has some more advanced combo techniques that I haven't discovered, but even his basic strings are pretty brutal.

Kano seems like a pretty strong pick. What do others think, and how have you been using him?
You can actually follow up his BP-FP-BP combo midscreen with Dash BP-FP-BP. Yesterday I was messing around with BP-FP-BP, [Dash, BP-FP-BP] x 2, 236FP and it does 30%.

hjs-Q

Noob
Sooooooo... anybody have any thoughts about Kano yet? I've been playing him a bit, and while I'm no pro, here are some initial thoughts: