What's new

Getting Destroyed

R0bot1cColumbus

Cybernetic Conquistador
Sorry if this is in the wrong forum, total noobowisz here.

I'm getting frustrated w/ the game. I love this game more than any in a long long time and play a bunch of characters--practice combos ..can get a few 30%'ers down pretty well...but when i play online i get absolutely demolished by anyone with a clue. Not sure what my record is, but it's bad. prob like 50-200. something disgusting like that.
I use the xbox360 pad...could that be a part of the problem?
just keep practicing?
thanks guys. love this site/game.
RC

Samsung Crunchy

Studying all of her moves
First of all, I absolutely abhor the 360 pad for fighting games but that cant't be the only problem. If you are aware of the basics and how to do bread and butters, then you need to account for your opponent. Online in MK9, with the current netcode, is greatly subject to quality difference.

Second, you need to be able to "know" your opponent. You need to be able to make predictions or reads into what your opponents plan is. If you know he jumps and teleports a lot, you need to adjust your game plan to defend and retaliate against it. It also helps if you're familiar with all of the characters combos and specials so that nothing catches you by surprise.

And yeah , perseverance and such, we all need experience and tribulations to make progress

R0bot1cColumbus

Cybernetic Conquistador
Thanks guys. My gamertag on XBL is the same as my account name, R0bot1cColumbus. Not sure how to put it under my avatar yet but i'll fig it out later.
Do the TYM rooms have any special names or ways to find them?
I have a hard time doing some of the combos even in training...I'm not sure why...i'm just a little slow on the pad i guess...and then after a while the inside of my thumb/heel of my hand starts hurting :-(

Eight

I am the salt