What's new

Strategy Working grave rot into your game

Nonameformedude

That Yung Big Body
In a sesh a while back and a friend mentioned how little I used grave rot, and I gave some excuse about how its impractical in the heat of a match/I dont use many strings that are cancelable and in in a hard knockdown allowing be to gas up . After seeing how much free damage it added he insisted that I find ways to consistently sneak it in. Well I have some match experience with this strat and its proven consistent so im ready to share.

After a WC(mb) the best set up imo is the double dash stance switch cross up, the stance switch allows for easy timing of the cross up and leaves room for some mind games. Another popular older setup is the WC(mb)-Grave Rot-WC to hit on the frame they wake. Now when you combine these two tactics you get a consistent way to throw your grave rot on and still have a chance to connect for big ez damage. The formula is WC(mb)-double dash-grave rot-j2~11xxHands(mb)~JI2~b1(reset)4
This easily and safely puts the grave rot on and allows you to chose between any set up that the double dash stance switch would give you. Another special thing about this is it will not cross up, so building a fear of the cross up then throwing this out will net you a free 60+%. Not to mention you can still just throw the f13~11xxHands(on hit)if you think they are waiting for the cross. You also have time to grave rot and hit your overall better(imo)overhead f3 if you so please(also can you say unclashable?). This is free damage added on to grundys already highly damaging combos, and another realm of mind games to toy with your opponent. You also have the option to ex the grave rot in this set up for an extra bar(not too much more damage, but I may work on a way to get the double rot in there for a really nice increase).