What's new

Really hard time doing combos with Cage

so i picked this game up on day one and have just been playing without "real" combos. this is the second fighting game i have ever played and i only played ssf4 for a few months, so i consider myself i noob with fighting games. i really want to get into the fighting community and get good at mk9 but i just cant learn any combos. i like cage the best and i can do some midscreens but i only get halfway though the combo before i mess it up. right now my best combos does 26% damage which is pretty bad. i have been working for about a total of 3 hours in the lab with just cage and cant learn any of his combos. its very frustrating and i was wondering if any one has tips and knows generally how long it takes to get a combo down. Thanks.

Jiendo

Noob
First off there's already a thread about this sort of thing its called the "Ask Johnny Cage Thread" But no biggie im still fairly new to MK myself (the serious side of it) but ive played Tekken and Street fighter a fair bit (tekken more) so im no stranger to fighting games (SF never really a high level Tekken damn near religiously)

http://testyourmight.com/forum/showthread.php?2678-GUIDE-Johnny-Cage&

This here gives you the buttons for all of Cages combos. that you really need to know. Over time you might come up with better ones, I know for a fact there are more damaging ones out there but these are some of the best (they average around 28% for a normal combo and about 35ish for a wall combo, Xray I don't remember 46ish I believe)

But it all comes down to how much time you want to put into learning them. These combo's arent easy (they look easy but getting the timing right on them is a pain, harder still to pop em out when your under pressure)

If you do want to learn look at that link and learn everything it says in there. The guy who wrote it is an amazing Johnny Cage player He can show you what Cage is made of

theres a clip to show you a Pro JC in action.