What's new

General/Other Raven's Normals

So I just started playing this game, and settled on Raven as my character. So far, while I know combos/setups etc, I have no idea how to play with her normals. It feels like every other character has normals that are faster, better ranged, better frames, anti-air, or some combination of the four.

What kind of strategy would one use when in close quarters with her? I realize she's better played as a keepaway/counter zoning character, but your opponent will get in eventually. So there's gotta be a way to defend yourself.

Zoidberg747

My blades will find your heart
F222 has.great range, is safe
223 has great range, is plus on block
11 string is fast and can lead to combos
B1 string is low and can lead to combos
Easier to pressure using j3 which is plus on block.

F222 has.great range, is safe
223 has great range, is plus on block
11 string is fast and can lead to combos
B1 string is low and can lead to combos
Easier to pressure using j3 which is plus on block.
223 is plus huh? Ok that's worth looking into more.
As for the others, I run into a problem where my fast "get off me" buttons always lose out in range. Like say, I block a string that pushes me back even a little bit. My 11, B1, or D1 fastest options are all taken away. I tend to try to throw out F222/F2,2,U1 or B23 from about mid-distance since they move her forward. (B23 also seems to be a great way to link her trait)
F222 I believe is 0 on block if I remember right.

Sami

Noob
Just a warning that 223 has a gap between 2 and 3 which gets blown up by parries and instant armour attacks (mostly supers). Opponents can back-dash out as well but can't punish after.

Just a warning that 223 has a gap between 2 and 3 which gets blown up by parries and instant armour attacks (mostly supers). Opponents can back-dash out as well but can't punish after.