What's new

Quan Chi v Smoke | What are our options now?

STB Bodam

"Game... Blouses."
Seriously,
Some of us Quan Chi players are going to get straight blown up by Smoke. It honestly has the potential to be terrible but what can we do to catch these bastards off-guard and win the match-up? I guess a lot of what I'm basing on is in theory and while I searched ALL OVER this place for any information -- with Smoke's reset, I feel like this might even deserve its own thread.

Basically, do we still use our meter to Rune Trap if we can or do we use it to break when we get caught? (since it's so easy to catch Quan Chi and punish him hard) This might just be a theory since I have no experience in this match-up but man, it just seems unbeatable. I'd like to hear from Shujinkydink or halfeaten about their take on this and how they handle it but here's what I think I know:

- Whiffed Sky Drop = D+1 to (free) Smoke Bomb
- Skulls = Telepunch or free pressure from a whiffed Telepunch in the air
- Cross-Over = Standing 2 to full combo (risk/reward though)
- Trance (Mid-Screen) = Teleport/Whiffed Teleport to pressure
- Wake-Up anything = Suicide, yeah?

There is nothing to Woolay about in this match-up. As you can see if we cannot trap them with much, we might really be royally screwed. But! There just might be some saving grace if we can force them to breaker and frustrate them with 112-Trances and Rune Trap strings/mix-ups.

Tell me Quan Chi board: How do you plan to approach this and salvage a win against some of the best Smokes?

ImmortalSkillit

SteeevRay
With the new stuff thats been presented for Smoke, I think i'd still have to approach this match up the same way, albeit much more dangerous now. :(