What's new

Nightmare Stance: Cancelling into Specials

STB Bodam

"Game... Blouses."
Viable or rubbish?

Lately, I've been messing around with Freddy against players online. I'm not very good with him; in fact I've even gotten blown up by n00b-y Smoke/Scorpion/Johnny Cage's -- however, I can't help but keep coming back to him. I love this Nightmare Stance; simply put, it's a mind-game in itself.

Do I go for one of his four options? The launcher is not my favorite because I can't seem to dash quick enough to get in for a combo and the overhead ends in just that...an overhead. So, my game is obviously limited to what I've been able to pull off. But I've been using the Nightmare Stance as sort of a duck maneuver to get under projectiles and then once past, I'll either Teleport towards them to pressure or back to start zoning again. Sometimes, if I'm feeling risky I like to duck under projectiles or back-up in a footsie type of way and throw out an Ex Hell Spike or regular Hell Spike to carry them to the corner or start a combo.

I was just wondering how viable this seems or if the only thing I'm really doing is building a slight bit more of meter for entering the NMS itself? Obviously, it has been working for me a bit or I wouldn't have posted it and I got the idea from being a Rain mainer my whole MK9 life (his Roundhouse Kick can be canceled into specials if you hold B, with Freddy you don't even have to hold any button just input the move you want)

I know this isn't new or groundbreaking in any way but I feel it creates a mind-game for the opponent and it's always good to have an extra trick up your sleeve. Basically, just wanted to hear from m2dave or Faded Dreams V to see if they use this with theirs or if I should just duck projectiles with the Hellspike ducking animation, itself?

Thanks in advance, guys! I really admire the way you guys have turned this character into a powerhouse.

Faded Dreams V

Retired June 2012. Unretired June 2013.