What's new

Question - Thunder God Looking for help with TG Raiden, a few questions.

Hello TYM -

So I am fairly new to MKX, but not new to MK. I used to follow these forums, but never posted on them during MK9. I guess because I'm having much more problems on this one more so than the previous titles. Mainly because of the newer mechanics of the game/the way wake-ups, and pressure work in this one.

I've chosen Raiden to be my main on MKX simply because I really liked the way TG looked in all of the gameplay I've seen. I've been on the game for a few weeks time, and I'm just looking to improve my odds. At this point I am able to do everything with Raiden that I've read I need to be able to do. (LRC, Corner Pressure) but I'm really just trying to polish everything up so that I can actually start getting repetitive.

So here are some of my questions, and if you have any tips besides these I would be more than happy to take them.

1.) How do you generally open your Raiden match? Do you play safe by backstepping/jumping? Or do you open with his 6f? I know it depends on your opponent, but as a general rule how do you find yourself starting out that works best for you?

2.) When punishing, what string do you find works best? I like the f1, but since it's a high if I make a mistake, or don't react fast enough it seems to cause me some grief. That's really just a part of my unpolished play. I tend to punish with f12, MBdf2, then into a 30% with the LRC, but I don't know if there's a better option?

3.) When using 1122 I can never seem to finish with a superman. I don't know what it is. Maybe it's my timing, but I cannot seem to finish that string, which I use a lot to build meter, but when it connects I of course want to finish it with the fly to get them in the corner. Any tips on this?