What's new

Intro + Question

CRUM

Warrior
My name is Matt and I'm new to these here forums. I've been playing MK9 for the past week or so and I'm looking to drastically improve my game. Uppercuts and shadow kicks with Johnny Cage are pretty much what I'm restricted to. I've been watching streams and such with footage from the PDP Tournament and EVO with the intention of picking up some basic and effective combos. However other than some of the basic lingo, I'm struggling to find my way.

I'm basically just looking for someone to succinctly explain what terms like F3, Jik, njp, f4, 2, 2, 2 mean. Maybe it's a stupid question, but I'm trying to work on my combos and it's difficult when I have no clue what they mean. I'd really appreciate some help. And I'm not sure if it matters, but I play Johnny Cage. Oh yes, and my gamertag is Crum X iz 7 if anyone wants to play.

fr stack

Noob's saibot or noob saibot's?
ill start wit wot i know
firstly welcome to tym :D
1,2,3,4 are the universal commands people use for buttons so (x/square)=1 (y/triangle)=2 (a/x)=3 (b/circle)=4
f3 would = forward A if your on x box.. /forward X if your on playstation
j.i.k= is jump in kick (jump forward kick)
n.j.p = neutral jump punch .....or up 1/2
there should be loads of info on the cage forums ;) go nuts

1man3letters

Alpha Tarkatan - Moderator
1st off welcome to tym :)

f,b,u,d are direction inputs

1234 are button inputs (on ps3) 1=square 2=triangle 3=x 4=circle (on xbox) 1=x 2=y 3=a 4=b

njp= neutral jump punch (jumping straight up in the air and pressing one off the two punch buttons (1 or 2)

EDIT: ya beat me to it stack, why the irish so helpful :rolleyes:

fr stack

Noob's saibot or noob saibot's?
1st off welcome to tym :)

f,b,u,d are direction inputs

1234 are button inputs (on ps3) 1=square 2=triangle 3=x 4=circle (on xbox) 1=x 2=y 3=a 4=b

njp= neutral jump punch (jumping straight up in the air and pressing one off the two punch buttons (1 or 2)