What's new

Improving execution on stick

aj1701

Noob
So, I've been playing on stick exclusively for a few months now. While I can do everything I could on pad (and more) I still make many more errors than I'd like. So I know in general practice more, but I'm looking for more specific tips that might help. I've read that I shouldnt need to move the stick all the way to the edge, and I know the switches will engage well before that, but when I'm actually in a figure trying to move it quickly often means I'm hitting the edges.

So, what advise do pros have to help get better using a stick?

Tolkeen

/wrists
So, I've been playing on stick exclusively for a few months now. While I can do everything I could on pad (and more) I still make many more errors than I'd like. So I know in general practice more, but I'm looking for more specific tips that might help. I've read that I shouldnt need to move the stick all the way to the edge, and I know the switches will engage well before that, but when I'm actually in a figure trying to move it quickly often means I'm hitting the edges.

It kind of depends on when your errors are occurring. Are you accidentally jumping? Are you missing neutral commands, and instead hitting directions? Are you mis-dashing?

I don't see the problem, just get more experience.
Also, don't you have square gate? If so, we're on the same page.
I have no execution problems after I had my matches with you, that made me realize to do iAF's the 16 bit way.

Other than that, I don't remember having an execution error unless I myself did it at the wrong time, but it is true that we need to get rid of our engagement to the edge of the stick.

aj1701

Noob
It kind of depends on when your errors are occurring. Are you accidentally jumping? Are you missing neutral commands, and instead hitting directions? Are you mis-dashing?