What's new

Data driven player stats

SuperVehicle001

The Metal Slug
I'm a programmer/data analyst. I started thinking, "what if I took a money ball approach to evaluating top level players?"

I'm a numbers nerd. With some help we may gain insight into the meta game at high level play. This is not an attempt to create a tier list of characters or say "who is the best player". It's mainly for fun (at least for me)

Let's invent Kombatball! Or maybe Kombatalytics.

I want to answer questions like, at what point is continuing a combo not effective? How long can a combo go before a breaker given the target has no meter at the start?

At all major tournaments what is the proportion of characters used? Do hypothetical match up numbers match statistically to real data? I could use data analysis to asses accuracy of match up numbers.

At what percentage of health remaining do most players let a combo finish in order to carry meter to the second round? Does letting a combo finish to carry over meter justify risk/reward?

These are just a few questions I thought of.

What kind of questions do you think would give insight into high level play?

The next step for me to take will be thinking of ways to measure and collect the data related to the question. I'll focus on that with a later discussion.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2

Momentum

Proud owner of the briefcase hitbox
Great post! I was wondering about this for the sake of my own play.
As a kabal player I would love to know the most common reactions (provided its the first time that string has being used in the game so nobody has been conditioned to give a certain reaction) to;

F3 NDC
F32 NDC
B1NDC
B12NDC
B121NDC
B2NDC
VS every specific character

I've always believed that math=power in games and although it'd be a mind-numbing task to find the most probable option for every situation, I think it would definitely be worth it