What's new

Complete Noob (Not Saibot) needs some advice

LWZ

Noob
Sorry for just coming in here not knowing anyone and asking for help, but a birdie told me that this site sports some hardcore players. I have played MK occasional since Sega says, but never played it enough to learn everything and play well, just learn my favorite 3 button combo and 1-2 special moves and call it a day.

Anyway…I really like MK this time around (change of pace from games I’ve been playing I guess) but I realize I suck really bad. I can’t even play on medium and get past the first few people. I play with my 13 yr old nephew (I’m 25) and I easily get schooled, haven’t played online yet and probably wont since I know it would be more annoying than fun.

I play on 360 and the only people I’m even relatively decent with are Johnny Cage, Cyber-Sub Zero, Freddy Krueger, and Jax all of which I pretty much just spam their specials.

Basically what I’m looking for are some cheap pointers like:

-are there characters that are more noob friendly than others? By this I mean really easy long combos, or cheap moves. Who?

-are you guys using the analog or the D-pad? I’ve been using the analog (unless doing a fatality) because I find it easier to use special moves with it, but it makes me jump to much (I realize this is user error not the controls), and I can’t seem to play as fluently if I use the d-pad. If one does have an advantage over I will stick with it.

-Fatalities, I find I have to enter them really slow to get them to work (even if the tutorial says I did the buttons right) does this same logic apply to combo’s? Because I’m usually trying to do a combo fast (panic) and usually fail short.

-Shao Khan: How do you beat him without being cheap? Even on beginner I can only get him by crouching, upper cutting and waiting for him to trash talk. On story I had to let the time run out just to win (final battle on beginner). Is there a strategy to him I’m missing?