What's new

Brand new MK player...where to start?

Hey guys, I just picked up MK9 a couple days ago (only 2 years late I know w/e), but I havent been able to play it yet, and I just signed up to the forums. I havent played a mortal kombat game since MK3 on the sega genesis, and even back then just casually so I'm basically brand new to the series. I'm certainly not a noob when it comes to fighting games in general however; I come primarily from Capcom games, mostly street fighter and the MvC series. I've been playing Injustice since release and figured it was about time I broke into MK.
I really have no idea as to which characters to start playing with and was wondering if you guys could make some recommendations. I guess overall I'm looking for a basic, easy-to-learn character to help me get a feel for the engine, but not necessarily the "shoto" of the series if you know what I mean. I dont tend to favor a certain playstyle in other fighting games, but I usually avoid grapplers (except for Grundy in Injustice but thats because he's a hulking zombie man with a meat cleaver) and hardcore zoners/keepaway characters. In terms of execution, I play on a pad and definitely don't have the fastest fingers, so relatively simple combos and move inputs are preferrable. I've seen a bunch of videos on Scorpion and he seems simple enough I like the look of the vortex; I also think Ermac looks pretty sweet. I main Harley in Injustice and Ive noticed many people compare her to Sonya and Skarlet, so I guess they could be easier to relate to, but I really have no idea. I just need 1 or 2 straightforward characters to help me get my MK chops and then I can figure out where to go from there. If you all have any input on what I should be focusing on training-wise before I start playing online, feel free to contribute some of that as well. I'd really appreciate any help, and I look forward to being part of the discussions on here.

Killphil

A prop on the stage of life.