What's new

Slight corner optimization: rejumps

Doombawkz

Trust me, I'm a doctor
Howdy!

So in looking to maximize her damage, I found that in the corner we do more damage by doing (d.ad is down airdash)

1212 j242 d.ad j.2 -> j.242xxbf2/db4

Likewise this means we can also set up optimal damage for a j124 by changing out the j2 for a j1. This can make for some easy kameo confirms in the corner for the extension into j24xxbf2 (or j.242 if you can get them fully above you) or j.242xxdb4.

As an example (assuming cyrax), you can do 1212 j.242 d.ad j.2 -> j.242xxbf2 -> kameo -> j.24xxbf2 for an easy meterless 43%.

Obviously we can also use this to triangle jump midscreen, though the damage is slightly less than optimal through the route 1212 j.24 fd.ad j.1 -> j.242xxbf2 (~37%). Damage wise you’re better off just doing the optimal 1212 j.124 fd.ad 242xxbf2, but the proof of concept is there in case we can figure a way to optimize the midscreen or if we get buffs to some facet of our combo game.

—- j.124 —-
As should go without saying, j.124 is a more difficult string to land later in the combo, but j.1 as your rejump set-up will give you just enough height. This is mainly for easier kameo links since we don’t have to worry about the recovery of bf2 and the distance limiting our kameo options in the corner, but it does generally cost a bit of damage.

For the corner, something like 1212 j.242 d.ad j.1 -> j.124 (kameo) will let a fair amount of the kameos land with easy follow-ups into j.24xxbf2 or j.242xxdb4, and some will let you spice in a blood sacrifice if you feel so inclined.

Midscreen, j.124 as an ender isn’t ideal since most Kameos won’t be able to keep up with it and bf2 is a bit too high to land even off the rejump (which is lower), but you can still do it off of the same general set-up for respectable divekick damage if that’s your goal.

— neutral jump vs forward jump —