What's new

How should I play as CSZ?

TogetherLemon

Robot Blueberry
I've been playing as Cyber Sub for a little while, nekropolis says i have 9 hours as him, and I honestly just feel like im playing him wrong. People say he is a rushdown/zoner. I was just hoping that someone could clarify what this actually means... im new to fighting games so you will have to explain most of your terminology. I tend to sit back and wait for people to come to me, so if they are being aggressive i can use ice parry, and i usually try to counter them when they jump by dive kicking. When people play defensive, I usually don't know what to do other than cast ice bombs and ice balls...

Kindred

Let Be Be Finale Of Seem
Zoner: Character who is good at keeping others away (Noob saibot, Ermac) Typically, they arent very good close range
Rushdown: Characters who are good at agressive face to face combat.

I would classify CSZ as a rushdown because from full screen, you cant really do damage. The bombs arent that great at full screen, his ice ball is very slow, his teleport is very slow.
You gain proximity by dive kicking forward.

When you get better at CSZ, you will notice that you use his 3,3 and 3,4 attacks the most
NB: 1 = (square, X), 2 = (triangle, Y), 3 = (X, A), 4 = (circle, B)

When you get better at CSZ, you will opt more for bomb traps instead. CSZ doesnt have VERY high damaging combos but his strength lies in the frequency at which he can land the little 20-30% dmg combos.

When I play CSZ, I am very aggressive. I'm always up in people's faces and use my parry when i know a wake up is coming
If someone is zoning you, then a trick is to teleport and quickly do a parry. Many people will uppercut or jump and kick so you will hit them

Hope this helps!
Welcome to the boards and to fighters!

Alice

Haaave you met Sektor?
He is not a simple character for sure.
In the Cbyer SUb Zero section you can find a tutorial video made by Pig and it is very useful.