What's new

Question Why is PS4 MKX online mode region locked? how does it works?

Eddy Wang

Skarlet scientist
To anyone wondering why i'm asking this, its because i'm kinda new to online, the MKXL net code is so good that i honestly don't understand why is region locked, considering Xbone is open.

So why not remove the lock?

How does this Region Lock thing works for MKX in PS4? I have a EU copy but can't play gainst US players or Autraulians, how many servers exist? Does Brasil Copy only plays Online against Brasil people?
Do we have an Africa Copy too? Because i heard someone from South Africa paid the DLCs with his African Currency in the PSN, does that means he only can play people from South Africa (Country Lock)?

Do peple in US can only play against themselves?

IrishMantis

Most humble shit talker ever!!!
I really think there is not enough widespread on this issue because the American server is huge so they don't need to worry about petty outsiders

But when outside regions struggle to fill rooms it's an issue.
If they add something like SF4 or Tekken where you can choose which region to play in and see flags beside the names would be a win for everybody!

We really need to make this a hot topic so we can't stop this with future NRS games that they will more than likely will do.

When was the last game that wasn't an NRS game online region locked?
Online is the keyword so localizations do not count.

BigMacMcLovin

B2s and Birdarangs
I was thinking this too. What makes it possible on the XB1 and yet it can't be done on PS4.

I was dissapointed when I found out only one was region-free. Definitely something I'd like to hear more on but NRS don't reply to anything remotely like this.

Just for shits and giggles though;
@16 Bit
@tylerlansdown
@colt

Skedar70

Noob
Well I can play with anyone from america ,however my connection with the farthest is really bad. I can't image how it would be with guys across the ocean.

HeroesNZ