What's new

Question - Kitana Why does this patch make Kitana so good?

WhiteOut

Noob
I know I probably sound like a noob for asking this and I could easily go look at the patch notes and spend some time in the lab, but I'd rather just ask some people who know. I realize that the stamina change will enhance her zoning and such, but I don't understand what makes here "broken, OP", or top tier honestly. She's one of the few characters that I haven't put much time into before that patch, so I have little knowledge on her...besides not to jump at her, and the fact that she wasn't that hard to beat prior to the balance patch. In other words: What makes her top tier after this patch and why? Should I be a tier whore and pick her up? Which variation is the best? Why?

Sorry if I sound dumb, but I just figured to ask:)

YoloRoll1stHit

Publicly Educated
Her offense gets some huge buffs which allow her to pressure you with a lot of chip, especially in Assasin
Her splat OH is now unreactable
Her defense gets a huge buff as well: ex BF3 is now safe, has 2 hits of armor. If that's the only wake up she has then it can be baited and punished, unfortunately she has a million options to wake up in each variation. So basically after a knock down she's free to do whatever she wants
And her damage is back to pre Summer Jam 2015 state

SM StarGazer

The voice of reason in a Sea of Salt
50/50's with ExAirGlaive. Which is a launching OH projectile.

She gains Shadow Kick and Staff Grab. That's 4 safe wake up. SxDtaffGtab is punishable but has great pushbpushback so at max range your good

GLoRToR

Positive Poster!
NRS tends to carelessly give characters moves that have no business being in the fighting game scene.
Kitana was simply brought up to game standards instead of bringing the standard down.
If we put Kitana into a real fighting game and all she could do is throw fan, air fan and combo off of both like she can right now, she'd already be broken in those games.