What's new

What's your MK story?

I'll give an abbreviate version, because as a dude in his 30's, I had exposure to the game at a young age when everything was new - I played in arcades and on console. My first real exposure was MK1 on the genesis. Apparently MK players haven't changed much - there was a guy in my boy scouts group that was pretty much the best player on MK1 for the genesis. We'd all play and he'd whip us. When I finally got to the point that I could beat him over half the time, he decided *I* was just obsessed with the game and he wasn't interested in playing anymore.

I played all the 2D MK's (got Trilogy as my first N64 title when everyone else was playing SM64 and Pilotwings), but lost interest once MK4 and the 3D games hit. To make a long story short, I didn't do much with MK until a little bit after my divorce. I downloaded MKAK in late 2012 and started getting serious about UMK3 around March 2013. It was around this time I started playing guys regularly.

Some superlatives (the TYM guys - there are others not on TYM but i'll list members here:

@dubson - probably the first high level player I played against. Wins against him were super rare, and I was amazed how the dude played so well with so many characters. Also one of the few guys that has been playing and has continued to improve. Once I hit a higher level a lot of guys leveled off, but Dubson always gets better too.

@Drakonian - my sparring partner. I learned so much off this dude, and @DemoniChris . Drak and I played on a near daily basis, and we both made the move from PS3 to maining MAME around the same time.

@McLOV1NS - first high level offline experience. Great player, smart, probably knows MU's better off the top of his head than anyone I've met up with.

@NobilityV3 - didn't think CSub was any good till I saw him. Now I plan on showing his viability in tournament.

@Trukuu777 @9.95 - bringing my favorite MK of all time, N64 trilogy back!