What's new

UMK3 Team Edition v1.0 (Features/changelog)

nwo

Noob
Originally, I wasn't going to make a Team Edition thread, but the game has been finished for almost 2 months and I thought now would be a good time for a thread so maybe the people who don't play on kaillera regularly would know about it also.

We (@KOHR and I) started this project in early November 2017 and the first public BETA was finished about 2 months later in late December. A lot of the work was from previous months / years, it just needed to all come together.

The game was tested online for about a month, then we spent a few weeks fixing bugs for version 1.0, which was finished in February 2018.

I've been playing 4 player 2 on 2 UMK3 on kaillera since 2010, and in the past we needed a separate software program (UMK3 Unlocker) to 'auto switch' the controls. The host player would send the commands over the internet to switch the controls which made it unreliable at times especially in heavy lag, due to dropped inputs.

Team Edition does not 'switch' the controls over the internet, making it much more reliable than before. It can also be made to work offline relatively easily in future updates..

Features/changelog Video

The main features in version 1.0 are the same as in the BETA. This is pretty much the text from the video, copy and pasted...

Features:

- 2 on 2 Team Kombat for kaillera (if 4 or more players are detected).

*Future versions may have offline support*

- Player nicknames [up to 15 characters in length] for Kaillera and P2P.

- Support for up to 6 players (3 teams).

Required Emulator: MAME32++ 0.119 (February 2018 edition)

Emulator Download Link: (roms are not included)

http://www18.zippyshare.com/v/EMBI834m/file.html

Emulator-Rom communication:

The game will behave differently depending on the amount of players detected by the emulator...

2 Player Mode:
- All modes of play are selectable (1v1 Kombat, 4 Player 2 on 2 Kombat, and 8 Player Tournament).