What's new

Question Scorpion, '~', and "J"

I have been playing just against my son. Out internet connection simply isn't good enough to reliably play online. I just completed the last iOS unlcok (Girl Power) and now want to focus exclusively on Superman:

1 - Scorpion - This is my son's new favorite character and he's learned to do the move where he teleports behind you. How do you stop it/Defend against it? My son does not play for consective combos, he's good for 2-3 hits and tries to save up for the Super moves. If I know the super move is coming, any advice for defending against the super move?

2 - '~' reference in combo strings. What does that imply? I'm still learning the language but in many posted combo strings the '~' is inserted and I don't know what that means.

3 - 'j' again within combo strings I see the generic 'j' to imply Jump. Just to clarify is 'J' simply jumping straight into the air? I've seen others mention 'Ji" to reference Jump In, but many combos strings just list 'J'. If 'J" is by itself with out the use of 'i', is it to be understood that it's a straight up jump?

I'm still trying to overcome the xbox rocker d-pad. Nothing drives me more bonkers than trying to execute some of the strings only to have my character Jump diagonally backwards.

CrimsonShadow

Administrator and Community Engineer
Administrator
So for the teleport, your best defense is to just crouch it. He will miss, and you have enough time to get a full combo in afterwards.

The super, like the teleport, comes from the opposite site of the screen; once you see it activate, you have enough time to block it (by holding the opposite direction than normal -- forward) unless you were in the middle of a long animation at the time.