What's new

Recovery frames

Jowabunga

Woooooooooooooo!
Hey dudes and dudettes,

I've been playing fighters since roughly 1999 (Soulcalibur!) but my semiserious dive only started in 2015 with MKX. I've been noticing some peculiar behavior in MK11 that I don't recall seeing in MKX or IJ2 and I'm hoping you frame data gurus can help me suss this out and understand what's happening.

Essentially, I've been seeing stuff happen that based on my inputs the frame data shouldn't be allowing. A couple of typical scenarios:

--Noob downpokes, which I block (-4). I follow up with a 7f d1 but get smacked out of it by Noob's B1 (9f). I had 6 frames to play with, so wtf?
--I do Kano's F12-B2 string, which is blocked (+2). I check with his 7f d1 and get reversal thrown before the d1 animation finishes. I had at least 5 frames to work with. WTF LOL

I watched some replays and what's happening is sometimes the first instance of the follow-up input is being ignored. By the time I realize the input isn't coming and I do it again I'm already being hit/thrown/whatever. In other words, my inputs are being eaten because they're going in before the character has returned to neutral. My issue is that I haven't found a way to gauge how long that window is and how it applies with my own attacks vs. when I'm blocking, so it just feels arbitrary and weird. Some questions, then:

1. Have NRS games always behaved this way? Soulcalibur games, in contrast, allow buffering of specials AND normals.
  2. The frame data has a single "recovery" value that applies on miss only. Is there a way to extrapolate that to blocks on attack/defense or am I just guessing based on the character animations?
Any input would be appreciated, thanks!

CrimsonShadow

Administrator and Community Engineer
Administrator