What's new

New to UMK3

hey guys im totally new to UMK3, well not totally new i used to play it when i was like 10 years old, anyways i am gonna try to play at a competitive level. Right now i am playing on an SNES emulator with my xbox 360 controller/arcade stick. I was playing against the computer and it was horrible i think a horse would be better than me at the moment. I was wondering if I i should be using an SNES emulator or another kind such as genesis? Also is there anything that i should learn about this game before i get to far into it?

thanks

i love your the site so far

Konqrr

MK11 Kabal = MK9 Kitana
Well first thing...don't play vs the cpu as it is not an indication of your skill level and it doesn't help you get better at the game at all.

Download MAME32k 0.64 and the MK3 and UMK3 roms (you need both and no, we can't tell you where to get them so don't ask)...then find someone to play against online or in person. Read the character guide for the character(s) you want to play as here on the site.

If you can't use mame for whatever reason, download zbattle from http://www.zbattle.net and zsnes from http://www.zsnes.com and go play somone online in the snes version of the game.

Playing people is the best and only way to get better.

OK thanks and i understand why u cant give out the webpages for ROMS

ok so now i have downloaded both ROMS i have installed mame and i have no idea wat i am doing past that point if someone could give me a hand that would be great

i won't be on until 3:30 pacific time

thanks

dreemernj

Ambassador
You have to make sure MAME knows the directories where the games are. Click Options->Directories and set that.

Then I suggest you click the folder on the left side that says "Available." After you click it, hit the F5 key to refresh it. That way it will look through the folder you just gave it and display the games that it finds.