What's new

New player in need of Cyrax advice

Hello all, I am new in both mortal kombat and this site, and so far I must say this forum has been full of very valuable information. I've been playing mostly offline, with friends and co-worker for about 1 1/2 months and been enjoying it a lot. I play exclusively Cyrax, which is the reason I'm posting in this forum.

I have a couple of issues that I'm facing that would need some advice from Cyrax experts.

1. When facing Baraka I have no idea what to do. I can't find an answer to blade charge. When blocking it, Baraka seems to be too far to hit him with anything. He can block net, spin if I jump punch, I can't dash and attack before he recovers. I am getting spammed all day by blade charge and can't find the counter.

2. I have troubles against pretty much every character to get a first hit that will lead to a combo. jip - 21 - net is almost always blocked, an AA net will have the opponent in the air, which the best I came up with was njp - b2 - 121 - AA. When on the ground I can usually get some hits with d4 / d1, rag doll, F2 - buzz saw, stuff like that, but nothing that converts into a net for a full combo. Since massive damage combos are one of Cyrax's strength I feel I'm missing a lot

3. Cross over punchs. I hate those with a passion. When I drop on the ground, it happens quite a lot that my opponent jumps over me and punch, which the only option is to stand block. My AA as wakeup always goes on the wrong side and misses him, and crouch blocking is a no-no as I'll get hit into full combo.

I got a couple of combos down, but it is irrelevent if I don't have the fundamentals needed to start them against good players.

Thank you for your help,

Rokinlobster

Nightwolf of the galaxy
Just command grab and down 4~saw.

But jumping is not going to open your opponents up. Try to learn to hit confirm 12 into a net. That is, you press 12, see that it hits and quickly input back back 3.