What's new

MixBox Arcade - MK11 Launch Day to now impressions.

Jynks

some heroes are born, some made, some wondrous

MixBox Arcade - Ps4 Controller

Some Background

So another MK and I thought I would try a new controller. I'm far from a pro, so take these comments with a grain of salt but these are my impressions of my new toy. This is no a sponsored review in anyway.

I have been a stick user pretty much from the resurgence of sticks in the mainstream market. I like many at TYM started gaming in the Arcades and once proper sticks and game ports made its way to the home I switched to them and never looked back. There was a period during the bit-wars before "real" sticks were a thing for normal consumers that I used pad.. but basically what I am trying to say here is that I consider myself a stick player.

At the start of MKx I decided to buy a HitBox. I had seen them used by people like Tyrant and the HUGE effect it had on the Tekken scene and thought it would be a cool toy. While I greatly enjoy the HitBox and think in general it is a fantastic device once you get used to it, my brain has always had problems with how they designed the "jump" button. I consider myself competent with a HitBox but pressing jump always seems clumsy to me and I often find at the moment of button press I get confused a little.

So when MK11 came out I ordered a MixBox... as this box with its "wsad" moment controls that match first person shooters and traditional stick button layouts seemed like it could bring best of both worlds. HitBox ease of use, but a more natural movement sequence.

I play mainly on PC. I have not ever owned a current generation console. I actually plan to get the Ps5 next time though. So all this is tested on the PC version of MK11.

Build Quality + Some Techy Stuff