What's new

Kollector Post Honeymoon Phase. (Kollector Is Bad)

Ok I'm trying really hard not to downplay this character and I'm by no means a pro player nor have I mastered him but I'm a character loyalist through and through. Since there is no kung jin/green arrow archetype in mk11 I needed to find a character that called to me and in theory that was Kollector. At face value he seems like a decent character but the more time I spend with him the more I see how fucking bad he is. I'm creating this thread as a change my mind sort of discussion because I dont want give up on him, I need someone to provide counter points/advice on the things I have issues with and most of this is off the top of my head so itll be sproatic in terms of order but:

His strings are all garbage, he has no plus strings on block so you cant create pressure. Especially when someone is pressuring you, there's just nothing you can do to anti pressure. Hes got no frame traps as a result.
Hes not a zoner at all, he can be out zoned by half the cast, self explanatory. He has a teleport for a reason but you better use it as a punish or spend the bar to keep you safe.
Hes supposed to be a mid range footsie character but his mid range strings feel so slow. 4 is high so it can be ducked so his pressure from mid range isnt threatening. 4 4 has a huge gap in it. 44 at max range can not be combo out of because bola is to slow and the second hit of db3 wont connect. He has the same issue with f12, the low starter. Done at max range bola doesnt combo and db3 wiffs the same way as 44 at max range. How does a character who's main form of play is the mid range game have an issue like that at max range. Like I'm being punished for knowing the proper spacing because shit wiffs.
He has no over head starter and his only mix up doesn't lead to any combos and is extremely punishable on block