What's new

Is using one character considered 'cheap'?

wompa164

HUHHEEHEE
Hi everyone, I'm new to this scene but I'm trying really hard to get competitive at UMK and I wanted to join a good community (so here I am!) 8)

Anyways, I've been playing for about two months now and I've pretty much been using Kabal exclusively. I used to be pretty competitive at Tekken 5 and I did the same thing: I used only Nina and practiced the hell out of her, learning the ins and outs of her character dynamics.

When I started playing UMK3 I decided I would research the tier list and start at the top, because there's no point in building your skills around a shitty character. Anyways, I generally use one or two characters exclusively because I'd rather be a perfectionist than a jack-of-all-trades. Staying with one character has helped me focus on learning the game's dynamics and elements after becoming comfortable and familiar with my character instead of juggling trying to learn a few characters at once.

I'd like to hear everyone's thoughts on this. My two more 'casual' friends that I play with (and beat the hell out of) always complain and call me lame/cheap/gay/whatever for only using one character, but I think they're more pissed because they're getting constantly dominated.

Anyways, thoughts? I'm becoming comfortable enough with the game itself that I'm going to be pursuing another character soon, probably either Human Smoke or Nightwolf.

Thanks for the input, and nice to meet all of you!

Wompa164 said:
Hi everyone, I'm new to this scene but I'm trying really hard to get competitive at UMK and I wanted to join a good community (so here I am!) 8)

Anyways, I've been playing for about two months now and I've pretty much been using Kabal exclusively.